IT

HOW TO RECORD A MEETING IN TEAMS!

12.29.21

 

Any Teams meeting or call can be recorded for future viewing. The recording captures audio, video, and screen sharing activity.

Start recording

When you start recording a meeting, you also turn on live transcriptions.

  1. Start or join the meeting.
  2. Go to the meeting controls and select More actions  > Start recording.

Everyone in the meeting gets notified that recording and transcription have started.

Notes: 

    • You can’t make multiple recordings of the same meeting at the same time. If one person starts recording a meeting, that recording will be stored on the cloud and available to all participants.
    • Meeting participants have the option of viewing the transcription during the meeting.

Stop Recording

  1. Go to the meeting controls and select More actions.
  2. Choose one of the following:
    • Stop recording: Stops the recording and live transcription.
    • Stop transcription: Stops just the live transcription. The recording continues until you select Stop recording.

Find Recordings

Recordings are available in different places depending on the type of meeting.

>  The recording is processed and saved to SharePoint if it was a channel meeting or OneDrive if it was any other type of meeting.
>  The meeting recording shows up in the meeting chat or channel conversation (if you’re meeting in a channel).

Note: For now, guests and external attendees can view the recording only if it’s explicitly shared with them.

Who Can Start or Stop a Recording?

Anyone who meets the following criteria can start or stop a recording, even if the meeting organizer isn’t present.

Type of User

Meeting Organizer – Can Start/Stop Recording?  Yes
Person from Same Org – Can Start/Stop Recording?  Yes
Person from Another Org or Company – Can Start/Stop Recording?  No
Guest – Can Start/Stop Recording?  No
Anonymous – Can Start/Stop Recording?  No

Notes:

>  Recording continues even if the person who started the recording has left the meeting.
>  The recording stops automatically once everyone leaves the meeting. If someone forgets to leave, the recording automatically ends after four hours.
>  If one of the participants has a policy for compliance recording, the meeting will be recorded according to the policy even if that participant is from another org.